top of page
  • Laura

Homestead Pie


Fresh eggs, homegrown kale and Shitake mushrooms. A simple meal doesn't get any closer to from scratch than that to me. This quiche, of the many I've made, had to be the best, and it was vegetarian! Of course, I can't claim any of the sourced ingredients as my own this year, but I get so excited to think of the time eventually when I can. Chickens are in my 2 year plan for our homestead and by fall I hope to have at least some kale ready for harvest. My friend Caroline with The Garden Keeper supplied me with a dozen duck eggs, and the Shitake's and kale came from our friend's greenhouse on the farm we've been sitting for this past week. We've been conscious to use up what we have, being that we leave for Colorado to visit with my brother-in-law, his wife, and my new niece for 2 weeks. So with an abundance of eggs, I always opt for making a single-crust quiche, the best way to use up produce scraps from the week in your fridge or garden. I've spent a lot of time trying to find a good crust recipe, and here's my favorite, along with the base recipe I use every time for each of my quiche's:

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page