top of page
  • Laura

Summer Squash and Zucchini Stew


Every year of our older childhood my sister and I were privileged to attend summer camp for 8 glorious weeks in the deep woods of Maine. This is where my love for camping, hiking, crafting and love for exploration of nature was nurtured the most. The smell of every south facing, dry pine needle scattered forest trail I've walked since takes me back to the wide pine lined path leading from the great hall past the sleeping cabins to the dining hall. I remember wishing every day as I got closer, wishing they would have this one soup I loved. How I could smell the soup 10 ft from the main entrance if it was Summer Squash and Zucchini soup day.

Since then I've craved it and never seen anything like it. Maybe I've missed that close communion with nature everyday it reminds me of. I never thought to try and recreate the soup myself til this fall. David has never been a huge soup person, not in the way that I could eat soup every day. When I suggested zucchini and squash soup before he said he probably wouldn't eat it. But after a couple times making it in the last few months, he's on board and I think you will be too once you try this simple and fast recipe. As with any soup, it's better the second and subsequent days so double or triple the recipe for quick reheats throughout the week.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page